Shinobi of Lore
Society is on edge with the wrappings of peace slowly unraveling between the countires. Join a world of myth and legend. Join Shinobi of Lore.
Welcome to NW!

Welcome to Ninja Way! The site is currently open for roleplaying, though you can expect updates as the site progresses. Be sure to read over the systems and the rules to have a clear understanding of how things work here. Again, welcome to Ninja Way and if you have any question just ask a member of staff.

- NW Staff
Log in

I forgot my password

Site Links

If you're new to the site and feeling a little overwhelmed, feel free to browse the links below and get a feel for the site's rules and systems.

Latest topics
» Speed Guide
The Elemental Handbook For Dummies EmptyMon May 22, 2017 8:42 pm by Webmaster

» Shinobi Generations
The Elemental Handbook For Dummies EmptySat Mar 11, 2017 7:01 am by Webmaster

The Elemental Handbook For Dummies EmptySun Sep 18, 2016 9:54 am by Guest

» Jeweled Seas!
The Elemental Handbook For Dummies EmptyFri Sep 16, 2016 2:20 am by Guest

» A late-night drunk tavern thread
The Elemental Handbook For Dummies EmptyWed Sep 07, 2016 10:12 am by Bastian

» Jutsu system (thoughts?)
The Elemental Handbook For Dummies EmptyTue Sep 06, 2016 12:39 pm by Webmaster

» Daily Missions for All
The Elemental Handbook For Dummies EmptyMon Sep 05, 2016 10:14 am by Bastian

» Prelude to Whatever (Open Thread)
The Elemental Handbook For Dummies EmptyMon Sep 05, 2016 9:53 am by Bastian

» Hisashi (Update Sheet)
The Elemental Handbook For Dummies EmptyMon Aug 29, 2016 12:36 pm by Hisashi

The Elemental Handbook For Dummies

Go down

The Elemental Handbook For Dummies Empty The Elemental Handbook For Dummies

Post by Webmaster on Thu May 19, 2016 1:44 pm

The Elemental Guide

The Five Elements Nature Transformations are the most fundamental chakra natures, which are the foundation of all elemental ninjutsu. They are so vital to the shinobi lifestyle that each of the Five Great Shinobi Countries is named after one of the five. Each nature is naturally weaker than one nature and stronger than another:

  • Fire Release  (Katon) is strong against Wind but weak against Water.
  • Wind Release (Fūton) is strong against Lightning but weak against Fire.
  • Lightning Release (Raiton) is strong against Earth but weak against Wind.
  • Earth Release (Doton) is strong against Water but weak against Lightning.
  • Water Release (Suiton) is strong against Fire but weak against Earth.

Basically, if an elemental technique is put against another elemental technique of the same level, but of a stronger nature, then the technique with the superior nature will prevail. However, a technique with a weaker nature can overpower a technique with a stronger nature if the former is of a higher level. For example, fire can overpower a water technique if it is first strengthened by a wind technique. If not then Fire would ultimately be overpowered by water. Simple, no?

Advanced Elements

By using two or three basic natures simultaneously, one can create a completely new nature with unique properties that wouldn't exist on its own. However, doing this requires a kekkei genkai or, if three natures are used, a kekkei tōta. Those with the ability to combine the elemental nature transformations possess an affinity for the chakra natures they must simultaneously use. A few examples would be Ice Release which uses Water and Wind or Wood Release which uses Earth and Water. While Dust Release is a example of the use of three elements at once (Fire, Earth, Wind), the Release itself is banned on the site. However, the use of three elements combined is possible just difficult to get approved. Its suggested to simply avoid it.

Yin and Yang Elements

Aside from the five elemental nature transformations, there is a second set of "natures" that are the source of all non-elemental techniques such as the Shadow Imitation Technique, Multi-Size Technique, medical ninjutsu, genjutsu, etc. There is Yin Release (Inton), the basis of imagination and spiritual energy, and Yang Release (Yōton), the basis of vitality and physical energy. Together, they are used to perform Yin–Yang Release (陰陽遁, Onmyōton). The transformation of the Yin and Yang seemingly has to do with altering the balance between spiritual and physical energy in chakra. Simply put, those that possess say Genjutsu, Medical Ninjutsu, or shadow possession jutsu are required to have the Yin Element. Those that use Body Expansion Jutsu (Typically the Akimichi Clan) deal with the Yang Element and thus would be required to have it as an element.

Before you ask, yes, having Yin or Yang elements mean that it takes up your starting element slot. Also, simply having these elements does not mean you have access to bloodline or Kekkei genkai related jutsu.

Posts : 155
Join date : 2011-02-08
Age : 29
Location : Atlanta, GA

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum